Nikon 1 V3 - Only partly functioning

qDslrDashbord error reports
Post Reply
meridian5310
Posts: 9
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 19:14

Nikon 1 V3 - Only partly functioning

Post by meridian5310 » 25 Jun 2017, 22:03

I'm using V3.5.3 (Android/Nexus 5) with a Nikon 1 V3 via USB ('Use Android native USB access' enabled). qDslrDashboard recognizes the camera and most functions seem to work (including LV, but only after I touch the camera icon, and AF) but nothing happens when I try to take a photo. Same behavior using my Nexus 7 with same qDslrDashboard version.

I tried a different USB cable, with worse results: LV wouldn't come on (LV icon was orange, not red), AF didn't work, but when I clicked the camera icon, I got a message 'Capture in progress' which didn't go away until I turned off the camera. Changing back to the original cable, I got it to work once (image captured by camera), then same issue as above. Communication between camera and qDslrDashboard seems flakey.

qDslrDashboard works properly with my D600 .

Is there anything I can do to help debug this issue? Thanks.

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1703
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Nikon 1 V3 - Only partly functioning

Post by hubaiz » 26 Jun 2017, 12:19

Nikon does not release documentation for developers for the Nikon 1 V3.

meridian5310
Posts: 9
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 19:14

Re: Nikon 1 V3 - Only partly functioning

Post by meridian5310 » 19 Jul 2017, 22:21

hubaiz wrote:
26 Jun 2017, 12:19
Nikon does not release documentation for developers for the Nikon 1 V3.
I don't understand. Documentation is included in the Nikon 1 V3 SDK:

S-SDKNikon1V3-004BF-ALLIN\Command\English\V3UsbMtpE_1.0.1.doc
and
S-SDKNikon1V3-004BF-ALLIN\Module\Win\documents

Doesn't this count as 'documentation for developers'?

I've attached my most recent debug log, which includes multiple attempts to get the program to save an image. If it's relevant, there are multiple lines with "<<<<<<<<<< Capture command response: a004". Please let me know if you need more information.
Attachments
qdd_20170719155322.zip
(28.5 KiB) Downloaded 145 times

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1703
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Nikon 1 V3 - Only partly functioning

Post by hubaiz » 22 Jul 2017, 07:02

Sorry my bad, there is a SDK for the 1 V3. Will check your log.

meridian5310
Posts: 9
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 19:14

Re: Nikon 1 V3 - Only partly functioning

Post by meridian5310 » 27 Jun 2019, 22:42

**UPDATE**

qDSLRDashboard is working fine with my Nikon Z6 (wired and wifi). However, my Nikon V3 is still only partly functioning under Android with my Pixel 2 and with my Galaxy Tab S2 (with OTG cable).

With direct wired connection:
- qDSLRDashboard starts with app icons and otherwise black screen.
- LV button shows black screen after being pressed. Using the Capture button will bring up the LV image, but not reliably.
** Capture button causes a flicker on the screen but camera does not take a photo.
- Other issues: Cust BKT button doesn't respond. Capture delay button brings up dialog box but once set, Capture button produces a 'beep' but no photos are taken. Settings button doesn't do anything while camera is connected.

I haven't been able to get wifi to connect, but this may be due to Nikon V3's feeble wifi capabilities (or maybe fixing other issues will resolve this).

Is there some way to create a debug log in Android? Is there anything else that would help resolve this (e.g, debug on pc)?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests