Manual GPS entry not working

qDslrDashbord error reports
Post Reply
skysurfer
Posts: 11
Joined: 24 Mar 2019, 08:31

Manual GPS entry not working

Post by skysurfer »

GPS does not work at all, i.e. when positioning ON it does not get a position.
And sincev ersion 3.5.8 there is a manual entry, but when I filled in my coordinates (28S, 153E, north NSW) it gives 51.52N, 0.13W, whatever I fill in.
The format it should be filled in, is not given, so I guessed hh.mm, hh (as integers), but nothing worked and no error appeared.
I filled in the values in a small edit box. The Large blank white field below it does mot accept input.

The top part of the image shows the input field and the result is shown below it.

Image

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1798
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Manual GPS entry not working

Post by hubaiz »

You should be connected to internet to select your manual location with the map.
The input field is there to enter a name for the selected manual position.

The wording is a bit wrong, when GPS is red it means the manual GPS is used.
Long press the GPS button to disable it.

skysurfer
Posts: 11
Joined: 24 Mar 2019, 08:31

Re: Manual GPS entry not working

Post by skysurfer »

Why is it not possible to fill in coordinates directly ?
That makes it a lot easier and independent from internet.

rupertg
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Apr 2020, 10:28

Re: Manual GPS entry not working

Post by rupertg »

I have version qDD 3.5.9 installed (Windows 10) and understand that since version 3.5.8, it has been possible to manually set the GPS position. I cannot find any way to do this though. The sceeenshot in the post above from Skysurfer shows a dialogue box for doing this, but I cannot find this dialogue anywhere. I have tried editing GPS from the Sun Pos Calcs window and have looked under Auto NTC. Am I missing something?

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1798
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Manual GPS entry not working

Post by hubaiz »


rupertg
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Apr 2020, 10:28

Re: Manual GPS entry not working

Post by rupertg »

Great, the dialogue box is there now, many thanks.

skysurfer
Posts: 11
Joined: 24 Mar 2019, 08:31

Re: Manual GPS entry not working

Post by skysurfer »

But this is a Windows build. Is there also an Android or macOS build ?

Post Reply