qDD execute a script?

Open discussion about photography, qDslrDashboard
wetcoaster

qDD execute a script?

Post by wetcoaster »

I am looking into how to control a camera during the Aug 21 solar eclipse. I own 2 Sony cameras and none of the available PC or Android based eclipse apps work with Sony cameras. The app must execute a set of precise exposure settings in a specific sequence and at specific elapsed times to match what is happening with the eclipse. One Android app uses a script which makes me wonder if that is something qDD could do.

I am brand new to the qDD world and have very limited knowledge of its capabilities as of yet.
GonzoG

Re: qDD execute a script?

Post by GonzoG »

No. There are no scripts in qDD. At least for now.
wetcoaster

Post by wetcoaster »

Thanks. I sort of doubted it based on my limited knowledge. Gunther Wegner suggested that I could probably accomplish what I needed via manual entry of the setting. I'll look into that.
hubaiz
Site Admin

Post by hubaiz »

You could eventually use the 'Sky stacker' module where you can set the number of captures and the shutter speed for them.
Rockwell

Post by Rockwell »

Hello,

I'm facing the same challenge as you. Did you find any solutions yet? Right now, I plan on using QDSLRDASHBOARD's custom bracketing feature to capture a series of exposures. Problem is, I need to drop out of that mode to adjust ISO, take a bracket there, change the ISO again, and then execute another custom bracket set. Knowing me, I will probably mess this up during the eclipse.

If you've found any good ideas, please share!

Thanks.
Space_Cowboy

Post by Space_Cowboy »

So how exactly do you use the Sky Stacker screen? The manual leaves a lot to the imagination. Someone responded about using it to capture a series of shots with various setting. How many shots in a series with camera setting can it store? How do you input say 12 different shots I a series?

Thanks
hubaiz
Site Admin

Post by hubaiz »