Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

qDslrDashbord error reports
Post Reply
User avatar
saxenamilan
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Jun 2019, 16:06

Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

Post by saxenamilan » 07 Jun 2019, 16:27

Hi,

I am connecting my camera Nikon D810 to my smartphone (OnePlus 5T running on Android 9). When I open the focus stack screen on qDslrDashboard, I can neither see focus ponts 1 and 2 as mentioned in manual, nor do I see focus forward/backward buttons. If I touch the screen, auto focus works fine, but I can't save it to points 1 or 2 and hence can't use focus stack at all! I have tried connecting to camera via both USB-OTG and wireless (TP-LINK MR3040), but those points/controls are not visible. Please help!

Thanks
Milan

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1703
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

Post by hubaiz » 08 Jun 2019, 07:40

Check your focus mode, should be set to AF-S.
In manual mode (MF) or while the AF is disabled on lens it will not work.

User avatar
saxenamilan
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Jun 2019, 16:06

Re: Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

Post by saxenamilan » 17 Jun 2019, 21:56

@hubaiz
Thanks for your response. But the focus mode is already AF-S and set to automatic (as I mentioned earlier, the auto-focusing in the app works fine when I touch the screen. Please find screenshots of app and my camera settings attached. You can see the autofocus green box on the app screen over "Morrisons" plastic bag in the bottom-right corner.. Please resolve this issue. Thanks
IMG_20190617_222149.jpg
IMG_20190617_222149.jpg (166.11 KiB) Viewed 623 times
Screenshot_20190617-222114.jpg
Screenshot_20190617-222114.jpg (51.65 KiB) Viewed 623 times
Screenshot_20190617-222128.jpg
Screenshot_20190617-222128.jpg (39.66 KiB) Viewed 623 times

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1703
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

Post by hubaiz » 19 Jun 2019, 08:33

Please make a screenshot with camera properties open.

User avatar
saxenamilan
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Jun 2019, 16:06

Re: Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

Post by saxenamilan » 20 Jun 2019, 09:18

Found the issue. The settings on my Nikon were correct (AF-S + AutoFocus enabled), but had to change the focus mode in LiveView section of the qDslrDashboard app's camera settings menu. It was set to AF-A by default (red circle in screenshot). Changed it to AF-S and focus stack started working.
Thanks so much for your help!
Incorrect:
IMG-20190620-WA0004.jpg
IMG-20190620-WA0004.jpg (117.37 KiB) Viewed 604 times
Correct:
IMG-20190620-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20190620-WA0003.jpg (98.23 KiB) Viewed 604 times

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1703
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Focus Stack screen - Focus Points 1 & 2 and arrow button missing

Post by hubaiz » 20 Jun 2019, 09:35

Yes, there is a separate focus mode property for the live view.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests