Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

qDslrDashbord error reports
simonplantphoto
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Jun 2019, 21:22

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by simonplantphoto » 10 Jun 2019, 15:10

Thanks for your help Hubaiz I will go and test things further now I'm more aware of those things.
Many Regards Simon

simonplantphoto
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Jun 2019, 21:22

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by simonplantphoto » 14 Jul 2019, 21:19

Hi Again Hubaiz,
Following on from my previous post I finally managed to find time to go out and shoot a day to night Time-Lapse again.
This time I took your advise and kept the app open.
I turned Holy Grail on with a 3 sec interval, downloading smallest jpeg and a rating exposure of around 1/15th sec.

I was expecting a jpeg to load every 2nd exposure but this did not happen at least while the LR Time-lapse screen was open but they did load when I came off that screen.

When luminance dropped below the reference I was expecting the exposure to change and it did once but after that once again I had to pause the Intervolometer and when I resumed it then did then change.

I gave up and came out of the Holy Grail feature and just made manual adjustments and again I had to pause the Intervolometer change my exposure on the app and when I resumed it then did then change but wouldn't change while running (which I presume is probably correct).
Please advise the Holy Grail is not working for me and was main reason for purchasing the app.
Many Regards Simon

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1662
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by hubaiz » 15 Jul 2019, 07:14

I would first go with a higher interval for testing , 4 or 5 seconds.
You don't need to go out, just start the interval timer with the camera and qDD.
I would check that the interval timer it isn't putting the camera in focus mode, while the camera is in focus mode qDD can't access the camera.

simonplantphoto
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Jun 2019, 21:22

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by simonplantphoto » 15 Jul 2019, 07:33

Hi ok I’ll test that today.
Is there any advise how to check if the intervolometer is trying to get camera to focus?
Maybe I could use the canon built in intervolometer and see if that causes the issue.
Regards Simon

simonplantphoto
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Jun 2019, 21:22

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by simonplantphoto » 28 Jul 2019, 17:46

Hi again,
Ive finally managed to do some controlled tests.
Ive researched and modified (cutting the wire for pre focus) in my Intervolometer.
It's downloading previews ok now and Ive set the app in holy grail mode.
I controlled light ambient by dimming a window blind.
When I darken the scene the app alters (lengthens) the exposure to compensate fine however if I then brighten the scene again it does not darken the exposure for some strange reason and the images are then left over exposed.
Is the app designed to adjust exposure either way for fluctuations of light (sun with moving cloud).
I also tried the apps built in Intervolometer with same results and in both sunrise and sunset mode.
Am I missing something here?
Regards Simon

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1662
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by hubaiz » 29 Jul 2019, 09:01

While in the LRTimelapse screen press the 'Settings' button and there enable the 'Auto direction', then it will do the correction in both ways.

simonplantphoto
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Jun 2019, 21:22

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by simonplantphoto » 29 Jul 2019, 10:01

Ahh ok many thanks
Simon

simonplantphoto
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Jun 2019, 21:22

Re: Holy Grail Fails to download JPEG

Post by simonplantphoto » 29 Jul 2019, 16:29

Hi Hubaiz,
Thanks for clarifying the settings.
Unfortunately despite modifying the Intervolometer the app still refuses after a short while to download anymore of the small Jpegs.
To do so and auto update exposure I have to stop then restart the time-lapse.
This is the case even with an exposure of 1 second with 6 sec interval.
Ive also noticed that Capture sample is not allowing me to press it for some reason.
I'll re read the manual to see if I'm missing anything otherwise I'm at a loss to what to try next.
After speaking earlier about this I thought the pre focus might have been the issue but it seems Im still not able to use the holy grail.
Any ideas ?
Simon

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests