Compile Openwrt along with ddserver - what am I missing?

Open discussion about photography, qDslrDashboard
littlelio

Compile Openwrt along with ddserver - what am I missing?

Post by littlelio »

Ok finally I was able to compile openwrt from scratch, along with ddserver source from git hub. Firstly I have to thank you to make such amazing software! I am a full time photographer and I think this can greatly help my work, and by chance I major in computer science so I am very happy to dig in a bit!

I have summerzied some steps and I hope this can help some people, but I want to confirm the steps (sorry this is not a full tutorial but with enough information you can search across internet), since I feel I missed some steps?

1, Prepare the build environment and I am using Linux. More details can be found on openwrt website. A few important points:
* the openwrt version. I picked Chaos Calmer 15.05 which is the latest, although it is not in fully stable release. (RC2 for now)
* the default configuration has no webGUI (Luci), so if you download the default bin, you have to telnet then ssh into via putty.
2, Config - make menuconfig is very useful. This is the time you can pull ddserver source code from github and put into the package folder. so in the menuconfig, you will see the ddserver option under multimedia category (also, as I mentioned above, pick Luci so you have webGUI). It will solve the dependency automatically. NOTE: You'd better install the packages into bin NOW, install using opkg later is not feasible since the flash space is too small to do that. (the bin is compressed so it can fit in)
3, Make it! The major pain is from bad internet connection. You can 'make download' first to download all the sources, then a single make will much faster (less than 10 minutes).
4, get the .bin file and install it on your router!

So here comes my questions: