Using a Pi?

qDslrDashboard feature request, ideas
DonnyM
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Feb 2015, 21:15

Using a Pi?

Post by DonnyM »

I know the Raspberry Pi runs Linux. And it has 40 GPIO. What do you think about using it to Run qDlsr along with the Motors of up to a 6 axis slider/dolly? I know you were working on using a Yun in the past. Just thought since the pie is only $35 and has all the I/O one could need it might be a good fit.
What do you think?


Donny

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by hubaiz »

Don't own a RPI but actually yesterday managed to order a RPI 2 so will see.

DonnyM
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Feb 2015, 21:15

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by DonnyM »

My Pi2 Arrived today. Now to make motors move. I look forward to seeing what you come up with. I'm not a programmer just a tinkerer. I do have a 6 axis Arduino controlled slider with a OLED screen I built. For software I modded the eMotimo TB3 Black to run 3 axis's of it. Otherwise I use Dragonframe for a 6 axis.
The Pi 2 should be fast enough for hand wheels and live video.

Donny

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by hubaiz »

Yes it should work, I was running qDD on Cubieboard2 that is only a dual core so on RPI2 should work better.

derryx
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Feb 2015, 11:03

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by derryx »

Hi!

I am using qDslrDashboard together with a Raspberry Pi B+ and a Raspberry Pi2 (via ddserver). Works like a charm.

CU
Thomas

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by hubaiz »

Got my RPI2 today (this was the fastest package delivery I got)
Cross compiled Qt 5.4.1 and qDslrDashboard and I can start it but getting some OpenGL errors with the device control screen. :(
Need to investigate, could be that my cross compilation was wrong.

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by hubaiz »

Finally working, needed to increase the video memory to 512 with raspi-config

diga1001
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 19:59

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by diga1001 »

How did you manage to run it on the Pi? I always get

Code: Select all

g++: error: src/main.cpp: No such file or directory
g++: error: src/communicator.cpp: No such file or directory
when trying to run the command given on Github :/

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by hubaiz »

I was talking about running qDslrDashboard on RPI2 (it needs a build for ARM)

You are talking about compiling/running DslrDashboardServer on RPI
To compile and run DslrDashboardServer on RPI

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/hubaiz/DslrDashboardServer.git
sudo apt-get install build-essential pkg-config libusb-1.0-0-dev
g++ -Wall src/main.cpp src/communicator.cpp `pkg-config --libs --cflags libusb-1.0` -lpthread -lrt -lstdc++ -o ddserver
After compilation you can run it with

Code: Select all

./ddserver

diga1001
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 19:59

Re: Using a Pi?

Post by diga1001 »

I'm really thankful for your fast response! I didn't realize that there is a RPI2 out by now, sorry for that. Unfortunately I get the same error as before. I'm running latest Raspbian Image. Do you have any idea why it does not work?

Thanks in advance and especially thank you for this great app!

Post Reply