I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Open discussion about photography, qDslrDashboard
snapzilla
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Sep 2015, 07:29

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by snapzilla » 20 Nov 2015, 09:38

@mmckeag I'm about to embark on my first focus stacking project (landscapes) and wonder what is the importance of only uploading JPEGs. Ultimately I want to have NEFs on my desktop for merging.

GonzoG
Posts: 461
Joined: 24 Feb 2015, 08:52
Location: Poland

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by GonzoG » 20 Nov 2015, 18:39

JPEGs download is for reviewing not for storing on computer. It has to be fast and cannot block camera for long time.

If you want short delay between shots and downloading RAWs you need to use external trigger connected to camera trigger port. There is no option to capture another photo before previous one hasn't need downloaded if you use qDD to trigger photos.

Markusc
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 16:05

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by Markusc » 15 Apr 2016, 16:07

Love the setup for focus stacking. If I could change one thing it would be to increase the size of the focus buttons at the bottom, item (3)
On an iphone those buttons are really hard to hit with big fingers :-)

thanks

GonzoG
Posts: 461
Joined: 24 Feb 2015, 08:52
Location: Poland

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by GonzoG » 17 Apr 2016, 10:19

You can change size of buttons by changing size of GUI in settings.

pittendrigh
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Jun 2016, 18:21

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by pittendrigh » 02 Jun 2016, 18:36

It is interesting to see qDslrDashboard can be used to make focus stack sequence. Very cool.

However you will still need separate software to process the stack. I use ZereneStacker and I'm pleased with it. It is not open source but it isn't expensive and it is rock solid reliable.

For what it's worth I also use ZereneStacker in conjunction with a StackShot focusing rail from Cognisys. StackShot is not cheap. $500 USA dollars or so. But that two part combination (StackShot and Zerene) is flawless and reliable.

Jonzinator
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Jul 2016, 16:17

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by Jonzinator » 27 Jul 2016, 17:18

Hello,

I don't understand the difference between Frame Count and Focus Step as they relate to each other. When I set frame count to 10 for example, focus steps says 26.

Thanks for he assistance.

Troy

axel_knirsch
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Nov 2016, 13:42

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by axel_knirsch » 21 Nov 2016, 18:54

This was a really good description. I succeeded in following up your description together with the one given in the manual for 1 point on 5D mark III.
I faced the problem, that the focus between the pictures did not change, so I had always the same picture :x . - Solution for me is "delay time" :)
So finally using above descriptions for 1 point:

1 point:
1. Chose step size from "small", "medium" or "large"
2. Use AF (or arrows) to focus on first point. (This works only for the first point, regardless if it is near or far)
3. Long press (1) button to remember position
4. Move AF-field to second point by touch screen and focus with the arrows (not with AF-Function/button), using always the same arrow,(same direction, same step), otherwise the position (1) is cancelled.
(Try this, always having an eye the stored focus and you will know what I mean)
5. Set "start point" as (current), "end point" as (1)
6. Number of photos is calculated automatically
7. Focus movement direction is set automatically

7.5. Add XX seconds delay between the pictures, so that there is time to store the data.
I recognized, that this time is very important and must be in any case exceed the storing time and the image review option of the last picture on the cam, which was 4 s on my cam. I also skipped image review in qDD.
After I deleted this time on my cam, and increase the delay in qDD upto 3 s, I could do focus stacking even in RAW.
Before this steps, the focus did never change and stack always on the same point :x

8. Press qDD shutter button to start capture sequence.

with 2 point I could not succeed, for what ever reasons, but 1 point is good enough. :D

haraldmuc
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Nov 2016, 16:33

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by haraldmuc » 06 Dec 2016, 10:05

Hi GonzoG, thanks for your help! I have tried all the options you describe with a Canon EOS 5d Mk III (in M Mode) and a Canon macro lense in AF. But unfortunately nothing works! Are there other Tipps you could share please? Thanks, Harald

pejannl
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2017, 11:21

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by pejannl » 09 Apr 2017, 11:37

Does anyone have the image that belongs to this post? I am trying to get this to work, but unfortunately I can not see the original image so I don't know what is the "1" or the "2" button. I also can not see any arrows in my stacking screen so the GUI has probably changed since this post.

Anyone care to help me out?

pejannl
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2017, 11:21

Re: I need a Focus Stack tutorial, Where?

Post by pejannl » 09 Apr 2017, 12:52

I have QdslrDashboard active, can get into the stacking screen. But no "1"button and no "2" button. Also no arrows.

What am I doing wrong?

Any help is appreciated.

Cheers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests