Raspi Zero W as a DslrDashboardServer

Open discussion about photography, qDslrDashboard
td13

Raspi Zero W as a DslrDashboardServer

Post by td13 »

Hello,

I am new to this topic. I wanted to look for a mobile solution to manage my Nikon camera. Since I have available a spare raspi zero w I am just wondering if I can use it as a DslrDashboardServer?

Any idea? Thank you.
skynex

Re: Raspi Zero W as a DslrDashboardServer

Post by skynex »

Hi,

I had the same idea and am trying it for several days. I'm using a Raspian Jessie Lite from 2017-06-21 and managed to install all necessary libraries that were missing in the base installation and led to error messages on startup.

Still I do not get the qDslrDashbard.sh script startet, it says "Illegal instruction" (when I remove the >/dev/nul in qDslrDashboard.sh). I also tried all platform modes mentioned in the Readme (mininal, linuxfb, ...).

Code: Select all

#exec $dirname/$appname -platform "${PLATFORM}" &!>/dev/nul 2>&1 &
exec $dirname/$appname -platform "${PLATFORM}"
I have several ideas what could be the problem:
  • Should not be the problem as only kernels differ. I did not manage to replace all libraries as some are not available on Raspbian Jessie and I even did not find backports (e.g. libexiv2-14). So I stick with his libraries in Qt_Libraries Old text: QtLibs / OpenCV libs are for ARM7 architecture? As he only testet it on a Raspi 2, which is ARM7, I think it could be a problem with a ARM6 Zero. Perhaps only the kernel differs. I will try to exchange libraries with the ones from my distribution. Still the program itself would be compiled for ARM7, so changing the libs could be of no help.
  • He states, that "Graphics memory must be set to 512 using the raspi-config utility" which is not possible with a Zero W that has only 512 MB. It seems to be a streaming server, perhaps 256 MB are not sufficient. Tried even 432 MB what is the maximum my Pi Zero W booted with

gpu_mem_512=432