TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Open discussion about photography, qDslrDashboard
nirmitpatel
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Apr 2019, 06:38

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by nirmitpatel »

cobra98 wrote:
30 Jan 2019, 13:44
Hi, i installed the v3 version by https://openwrt.org/toh/hwdata/tp-link/ ... wr902ac_v3 but in your manual i miss how to get dslr dashboard server on it after.
I looked at https://github.com/hubaiz/DslrDashboardServer but have no clue how to compile it on the router with openwrt installed.
Maybe i missed something in your manual.
So far it described that dslr dashboard runs on it and in the description you describe only the installation of the firmware which can be done by tftp
instructions i found here https://git.openwrt.org/?p=openwrt/open ... 6530025098
Thanks for your valuable reply.Here I got my solution.Helpful :) well done.....

bswan
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Nov 2018, 08:43

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by bswan »

Has anyone who has tried this router compared real world speeds with any of the N routers? Thinking of upgrading my GL iNet 300M to this one if it provides faster transfer of photos

wlayher
Posts: 32
Joined: 15 Oct 2018, 14:02

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by wlayher »

If I connect my tablet to the 2.4 GHz network of this router, the status page shows a resting bitrate (no active transfers) of around 115-130 Mbit/s with 20 MHz channel bandwidth. If I connect to the 5 GHz network, these values are around 300 Mbit/s and 80 MHz channel bandwidth. I expect these bitrate values to be even higher during an active transfer.
From experience using it to display the last capture on a 5DMk3, the display of a RAW takes around 1 s, display of a jpg is almost immediately (on 5 GHz). I don't use wifi to transfer all images on a card to my laptop, so I can't offer any throughput values for that.

bswan
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Nov 2018, 08:43

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by bswan »

Excellent, thanks for the info. That sounds like it's probably enough to be an upgrade for me

alowe
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jan 2020, 16:38

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by alowe »

wlayher wrote:
05 Mar 2019, 15:33
Update!
OpenWrt now supports the 5 GHz band on this router. I have just tested and uploaded updated firmware images with 5 GHz support and have also updated my How-to accordingly.
I successfully built my own firmware following your guide, but I'm unable to get the 5 GHz band working. It works fine if I flash your image, but not on mine. Is there something extra I need to do to get it working?

wlayher
Posts: 32
Joined: 15 Oct 2018, 14:02

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by wlayher »

You need to customize your build with two files. Go to the following directory in your build tree ...openwrt/files/etc/config or create the missing directories if they do not exist. Now put the following files into this directory.
One file named "network" with the following content:

Code: Select all

config interface 'loopback'
        option ifname 'lo'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
        option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config globals 'globals'
        option ula_prefix 'fdb5:7823:52d1::/48'

config interface 'lan'
        option type 'bridge'
        option ifname 'eth0.1'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
        option netmask '255.255.255.0'
        option ip6assign '60'
        option broadcast '192.168.1.255'

config device 'lan_dev'
        option name 'eth0.1'
        option macaddr 'ac:84:c6:e1:aa:8d'

config switch
        option name 'switch0'
        option reset '1'
        option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
        option device 'switch0'
        option vlan '1'
        option ports '4 6t'
And a file named "wireless" with this content:

Code: Select all

config wifi-device 'radio0'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option channel '11'
        option hwmode '11g'
        option path 'platform/10300000.wmac'
        option htmode 'HT20'
        option legacy_rates '1'
        option txpower '20'
        option country '00'

config wifi-iface 'default_radio0'
        option device 'radio0'
        option network 'lan'
        option mode 'ap'
        option ssid 'OpenWrt 2.4 GHz'
        option encryption 'psk2+ccmp'
        option key 'dslrdashboard'

config wifi-device 'radio1'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option channel '36'
        option hwmode '11a'
        option path 'pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0/0000:01:00.0'
        option htmode 'VHT80'
        option legacy_rates '1'
        option country '00'
        option txpower '20'

config wifi-iface 'default_radio1'
        option device 'radio1'
        option network 'lan'
        option mode 'ap'
        option ssid 'OpenWrt 5 GHz'
        option encryption 'psk2+ccmp'
        option key 'dslrdashboard'
You can change the values for ssid and key (the wifi password) in both radio sections to your preferences.
After you create the files you make another build and the resulting image is preconfigured for both bands and for the wifi password.
HTH :-)

wlayher
Posts: 32
Joined: 15 Oct 2018, 14:02

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by wlayher »

I forgot ...
If you flash as an upgrade to an already existing openwrt you must remove the checkmark at "keep config" in the flash dialog so that the customized config becomes valid.

alowe
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jan 2020, 16:38

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by alowe »

I created the files and recompiled. The second radio shows up now, but only as "Generic 802.11bg". maybe I'm missing the driver. I verified that the config files on the router match the files I created. The only things I changed were the LAN IP and the MAC address.

alowe
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jan 2020, 16:38

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by alowe »

I solved my issue. After doing ‘make menuconfig’ I went to global build settings and selected “Select all target specific packages by default”. Works like a dream now. Thank you for the guide and the assistance here!

wlayher
Posts: 32
Joined: 15 Oct 2018, 14:02

Re: TP-Link TL-WR902AC AC750 v.3

Post by wlayher »

Yes, I remember now that there was an additional driver added some time last year. I saw some article about this a few months ago, saw that there was an additional wifi driver, activated it in my config, and then I forgot. The official openwrt page for the router now also has both drivers listed. Glad you could work it out. :--)

Post Reply