Sony A7Siii

qDslrDashboard feature request, ideas
Post Reply
Tegels038
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Apr 2021, 20:29

Sony A7Siii

Post by Tegels038 »

Will it be possible to connect with the Sony A7Siii in the future?

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1941
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Sony A7Siii

Post by hubaiz »

If it supports the 'Smart remote control' camera application ( https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com/ ... _00-F00002 ) then yes.

Tegels038
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Apr 2021, 20:29

Re: Sony A7Siii

Post by Tegels038 »

Thnx for the reply!
But a bit confusing answer... ;) Do you mean it is going to work or should it already work? When I try to connect my A7Siii to qdslrdashboard, it will find my camera but it can’t connect.

No problems with connecting to the Sony app!
Last edited by Tegels038 on 23 May 2021, 16:12, edited 2 times in total.

kruki
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 May 2021, 04:35

Re: Sony A7Siii

Post by kruki »

@hubaiz,
the same SDK as for the Sony A7 RIV could also be used for the A7SIII.
I think the old playmemories route is a dead end. Any of the recent (higher end) Sony cameras support the new SDK only. Please see supported cameras from the link below. A year ago Sony announced the SDK for the A7 RIV. In the meantime they have added 6 additional cameras:
https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/ap ... index.html
Supported device
ILCE-1, ILCE-9M2, ILCE-7RM4A, ILCE-7RM4, ILCE-7SM3, ILCE-7C
DSC-RX0M2 (Ver. 3.00 or later)

Any chance to add support ? I would be willing to help you with testing ...

hubaiz
Site Admin
Posts: 1941
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 18:58

Re: Sony A7Siii

Post by hubaiz »

If it uses the new Sony communication protocol then it will not work.
I'm trying to implement it but without proper documentation it is hard.

robertoruiz
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jan 2016, 22:52

Re: Sony A7Siii

Post by robertoruiz »

I just bought the Sony a7s iii and found the same issue to connect. Please comment if this issue has been resolved.

Thanks

Post Reply